For now time has stilled in memory.

Monsoons cascade over my sweltering skies,
The sun’s glare no longer hurts my eyes,
The koél sings and with it my heart flies;
For now time has stilled in memory.
The cool wind blows in from clouds wide and grey,
There is slanted light and heat’s kept at bay;
All is fresh: this is how I like my day;
For now time has stilled in memory
I lay my head down and call soft to sleep
And see what dreams I shall get to keep,
Floating along with stars in skies so deep;
For now time has stilled in memory
Through my half-closed eyes I see the moon,
Peeking through the clouds to hear earth’s tune,
As it welcomes rain as a blesséd boon;
For now time has stilled in memory.
I hear no sound now for none are near me,
Some I’ve pushed away, most have set me free,
I’ve no room for pain, it, too, leaves me be;
For now time has stilled in memory
4 July 2007.
Leave a Reply

