But Perhaps…

I may not have the eyes that you dreamed of,
Nor may my ideas ideally in yours fit,
Nor may my smile now be what you think of,
But once they were what you fell in love with.

I may not be as young as I used to be,
Nor am I as thin, nor have as much hair,
Nor does time allow me security …
But my heart still beats with the same flair.

Perhaps I must learn love changes with time
And fades as does my ageing skin’s glow,
Perhaps love cannot be kept solely mine,
And I must know when to gently let go.

Someday as you lay lonely in your bed,
And your youth fights with creeping years,
Perhaps you’ll be the jealous one instead,
And perhaps then you’ll understand my fears.

30th October

Leave a Reply

