Choices.

If I were to stand on one side,
Opposed to the world and the ties that bind,
Which would you choose? Me or those?
What would my eyes see? What would my heart find?

Oracles in my life warned in vain:
‘Find one who knows his choice, one who knows to fight;
The one who knows what is dark,
One who can shield and yet guide you to the light.’

Choices, after all, are often heart-made;
And there was your face – you came to me as a better choice,
The gentle heart behind golden eyes,
No matter the length of years or lack of diligent voice.

The time was such.
But beginnings are always passionate, star-bright,
You used to bring me flowers,
Those hours of impatient wait, those miss-you nights.

But things change,
There is so much to write;
If only I could lose …
If only you could fight.

If I were to stand on one side,
Opposed to the world and the ties that bind,
I know what you would choose,
And your regret of what you leave behind.

22 January.
5am

Leave a Reply

