The Dawn Broke Upon the Night.

The dawn broke upon the night
and scattered ice blue shards
in the dark blue and black fight.

Meanwhile my eyes blinked and saw,
the sleeping leaves stir in the cold,
and somewhere i heard a crow caw.

My eyes blinked again and sleep
came over my thoughts quietly,
and i let it come in a soft creep.

I lay down on my pillow of white,
and saw the white dawn smile,
just as i slept and said good night –

The sky brightened and i sighed
with eyes shut i thought of the night,
some thoughts ran away to hide,

and some stayed back but they too
seemed reluctant to let my eyes open,
and sudden into dreams they flew.

Leave a Reply

