To Ganapati.

Thou were brought home today with great ado,
Hearts welcomed thee with music and great love,
As I walked toward thee my wonder grew,
T’see rain greeting thy birth from Heaven above.
Clamour rang joyously through the night air,
And thy eyes looked on all through many veils,
To look on thee was to kill my despair,
Thou carried me away from life’s sordid tales.
Gold laden, curved trunk – my elephant God!
Remover of obstacles – wisest of all!
For moments it was just me and my Lord,
His eyes spoke and my heart answered His call.
I thank thee for this and thy knowing smile,
And for walking with me for a short while.

18th September

Leave a Reply

