To Rolfe.

Those round and bulging and luminous eyes!
And those ears that hung outward like a bat!
An expression of a Pug in disguise –
Mobile even before the drop of the hat!
Tawny coloured, alert and bendy-backed,
A flimsy walk and a non-chalant air,
Quite a few faults I know he did not lack,
A will that would make him pick any dare.
That was Rolfe, whom some call my second best –
E’en I used to think so up until now –
Now that he has passed the Ultimate Test:
To prove I loved him anyway and how!
Angels came and took him from us today,
I loved him – guess that’s all I wanted t’say.

20th November

Leave a Reply

