To the Young One.

Man, your words were sharp and your voice was strong,
You meant to hurt and you succeeded well,
All I asked was you – an entire night long,
And I was offered a brief glimpse of hell.
You cut to the quick, when you doubted me
And my offer to protect. When you know:–
That, all my life, I lived in the fantasy
Of basking in a man’s protective glow.

Since that is not my fate to have, young one,
I, perhaps, should wizen up and think:
I could ignore the signs and have my fun,
Then jump ship as it is about to sink;
Or think of our future as one needs to
And kill the fantasy and protect you.

22 January
5:30am

Leave a Reply

