“I marked the time I was your only friend”

I marked the time I was your only friend,
When you, all alone, knew not where to be;
I mark the time, now that we reach an end,
As you would want to think no more of me.
You needed someone near and I was there;
Funny! How I thought of you as so sad!
I reached out and showed you how I did care,
I knew you thanked me then and you were glad.
I marked the time. I mark the time again,
When you don’t see me as I pass you by,
My heart shrivels, but my pride doesn’t complain
And I know it’s fruitless to mourn, or cry.
But be sure when a heart’s broken by you,
Time shall seek yours out and break it, too.

16th November
edited 10th February ’08.

3 thoughts on ““I marked the time I was your only friend”

  1. This poem shows so much pain and to some extend the feeling of being betrayed. I feels its better to forgive and forget and sort out things if possible though….just a personal opinion

  2. Your opinion is most welcome. Yes, the feelings you mention were around. 🙂 But that was a different time and time has taught me a few lessons. You are correct in the forgiving and forgetting – but sorting things out has its own equations after all.

Leave a Reply

