You Came Into My Life

You came into my life,
When I had recovered from love.
I got to know my life again.

I had picked up my trampled heart
And kept it locked away
Within toughened sinew
Then
You came into my life.

When I first saw you
I marvelled on your smile.
But you walked over mine with hob-nail boots
And looked over my hand of friendship.

Destiny proved stronger.
Though my smile was not for you –
My heart had a mind of its own.
(Its spirit survived.)

so I walked into your life.
Took no great notice of your past.
Took you into my heart.
Took you into my home.
Took you to be my partner, lover and love.

Destiny had its say again,
Our hearts were pushed and torn,
Mine tried its best to cling onto yours,
Yours did the same.
Hope survives.
Love carries on.
Life lives upto its name.

You walked into my life.
Your name is now linked to mine.
I try my best to keep my faith in love
And leave the rest to you, your heart and time.

Leave a Reply

