Zoe

Doe-eyed, you tumbled in my life,
With three spots on your pink nose;
You came to be quite the symbol
Of Hope, soon after Love’s repose.

Gangly, obedient, sensitive,
No endurance for pain,
You are the one I am closest to,
Who loves me for least personal gain.

The first who loves taking a bath,
The first who shuns food for play,
You sit beside me through waking hours,
At sleep, you keep the monsters away.

I want to protect you from life
And its inevitability;
If I could only make you know,
Of just what you bring
what you mean
what you are
to me.

(written 29th August, 5:30am)

Leave a Reply

