Scream from a Dream

I am at a loose end,

I must have gone off the bend,

I am shrieking inside,

My need messes my pride;

The fear of rejection so last century,

Still haunts the heart of me;

I’m tired of blaming the father,

With all the epithets I can gather;

Thirty seven is too old,

For desire not to be sold

Into the hands of the young,

Or into the pants of the hung.

I am adrift in a sea of doubt,

Without a cock in my mouth,

For love has turned into sacrifice

And there is too much fat in rice.

I sit quietly dealing with screams,

As others talk to me of their dreams,

I stop at a loose end,

And all I do is pretend

To ignore the loudest scream

From my own broken dream.

Leave a Reply

