Sadness Remembers

I remember when I was bullied –

I remember when I am sad –

I know they are best left alone –

Those times when I was treated bad –

But I remember them now and think –

Of how things would have, could have been –

If I had the friends I have now –

What different hopes I might have seen –

How things would, could, may have been –

If I had these friends by my side –

I would not have felt so alone –

My feelings wouldn’t have had to hide –

But – but these friends are around now –

And I have a safer harbour –

To guide this derelict into –

When sadness makes me remember.

Leave a Reply

