Last Monsoon

Last monsoon I walked with you beside me,
Your ambling gait made thoughts twinkle with fear:
Fear that arose like swells of a dark sea;
But they twinkled back for you were then near.
This monsoon, rain falls from a pink sunset,
While I relish two young ones at my feet;
But each hour brings back what I try to forget,
Each raindrop corresponds to your heartbeat.
It feels like you never entered that sea
That sea that darkens with each ebb each flow.
Welcome! If there your eyes I get to see –
There isn’t any reason to let you go!
Let me float in these waters without fears,
Where I can’t discern your rain from my tears.

Leave a Reply

