A year

It’s been a year that forgot grief in shards,

Where my heart burst in another becoming;

I’d nothing left to lose but abstract nouns,

Which I realize were never welcoming.

You were one of the cleanest emotions:

Subtle and complete, filled with the abstract

I’ve never been able to understand,

Despite how the heart would add or subtract.

Time is the cruelest entity I find;

It destroys the heart and corrupts the mind;

And though I am surrounded by the new,

I just close my eyes and simply find you.

For you gave meaning to what can’t be seen,

In that meaning, you will always be seen.

Leave a Reply

