Our first meeting

For you, heartbreaker, I bear no ill will,
I know somewhere in your heart, I rest still;
And though you left me, with sudden goodbye,
With no chance to embrace or a good cry,
These are moments you have snatched from my fate,
That leaves us torn but with no scope to hate.
I saw you and felt the touch you gave me,
Through askance eye you so questioned to see;
You stood so near and yet so very far;
I could not begin to know who you are.
I do not know if wounding me was meant,
I only took what you willingly sent.
If hurt was your intent, I shall receive;
But in what slight manner did I deceive?
To partake you so close yet so remote,
In my agony, did I feel you gloat?
Your soft hair I couldn’t run through my fingers;
Yet the brand of you terribly lingers!
For you, heartbreaker, I bear no ill will;
I know you sit somewhere and read this still.

Leave a Reply

