Used to be

I used to be
A poem, a song,
I used to be,
I used to be.
I used to be
Where I belong,
I used to hope,
I could love,
I believed then
In Succour above.

I used to think,
I used to write,
I could smile,
In bright moon light.
I used to choose
Between night and day;
I used to walk
A certain way.

I could befriend
And not expect loss;
I used to voice
On a coin’s toss.
I used to be
A Father’s son
I upheld rules
Every one.

I used to be,
I used to see,
Now I know
What’s meant to be.
Now I am
What’s left of me.

Leave a Reply

