Blood is thicker than water

I can’t sleep.
I’ve walked these empty rooms,
In my mind.
I’ve heard the snores,
From tired and uncaring mouths.
Stop. Rewind.
I bang against these walls.
I have cried my tears.
I can’t get hurt again,
I can’t face the same fears.
I thought I was rid of them,
Ages ago, when I stopped caring.
But here I am.
Without sleep, vacantly staring.
What keeps me awake?
I know the reason.
I dread to let hope die
And wait for the change in season.
I remember all that love said to me,
I recall the words before its slaughter;
There’s the end of love, when
Blood proves to be thicker than water.

Leave a Reply

